History of Urrugne
The village of Urrugne covers over 5 000 hectares. However, it used to cover an even larger area since it used to include the municipalities of Hendaye, Ciboure and Biriatou.
Consequently, thanks to its location, it was situated on the shortest route from Paris to Madrid, ie. 13 days by coach from the French capital. The Posta house, which today is home to the Tourist Office, was used as a post-office from 1584, ie. as a place where diligence horses were exchanged known as "malle-poste".
Due to its closeness to Spain, Urrugne was subject to confrontation in the many wars between the two countries until finally the Treaty of the Pyrenees was signed on Pheasant Island on 7 November 1659 between Louis XIV and Felipe IV, King of Spain.
Despite this entente, the Napoleonic wars marked the landscape of Urrugne. It is still possible to find certain remains, such as fortifications in the mountains around the Ibardin Pass.
One of the village's residences has witnessed all these events and could tell six centuries of history in Urrugne: the Château d’Urtubie which was built in 1314. Personalities from all periods stayed there: King Louis XI in 1463 and Louis XIV, Marshal Soult and Wellington…
The village's coat-of-arms is also a reminder of the historic past of Urrugne since the lion is the emblem of the former Viscounts of Labourd and the fleur-de-lys is a reminder of annexation in 1451 by King Charles VII.
Today Urrugne is a quiet village with its natural landscapes and which has managed to preserve its authenticity and traditions. Come and stay with us and discover the Basque art de vivre.